Property Value Substitution

Mar 7, 2009 at 6:39 AM

I am new to Unity, but have been using Spring.NET for a couple years. In Spring.NET, it is possible to define a property value as something like "${MyKey}", and during the configuration stage, have this resolve through a name/value source of some kind, into something like "MyValue". I am trying to do something similar in Unity and ObjectBuilder2.

I can see various ways to achieve something like this using alternative configuration sources, but this is not a solution for me. Let me explain:

I have an application deployed by ClickOnce which uses DI to define and wire-up multiple objects. For the sake of simplicity, let's assume one of those objects has a property called "Timeout". It is quite easy to configure this in a unity configuration section in App.config, or in some other file. However, in a ClickOnce application, all files in the deployment are referenced in the manifests with their hash, and the manifests are then signed. This has the effect of making configuration files essentially hard-coded. If I want to change the value of the "Timeout" property above from say 10 to 20, I can't simply modify the config file on the web server; I must modify the config file, and then generate a new deployment, so the manifests and the config file(s) are compatible.

I have gotten around this limitation for simple cases like the "Timeout" property by resolving "${MyKey}" against a file of name/value pairs which is accessed from the web sever via an http URL. The URL is "hard-coded" into the config file, but the content can be changed on the server by simply editing the file, because it is outside of the ClickOnce deployment itself. In case you're interested, I do this in Spring.NET using a VariablePlaceholderConfigurer and a PropertyFileVariableSource with the location property set to the URL.