Creating a Mock object for a WCF service client class

Feb 27, 2009 at 8:47 PM

I am new to Unity DI container and I am looking for a way to test my presenter/controller, which uses WCF service to get data from the server, classes without needing to use the real WCF service client classes. All the calls to the service are asynchronous (I am supporting both Silverlight & WPF). The problem I have is that I can't easily create a different implementation off of the service's interface 'coz it is different from the proxy client class. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Feb 28, 2009 at 6:00 AM

Perhaps my project may provide some insight for your requirements.   I have some blog/webcast links on the home page. The "Unity, WCF and Configuration" webcast shows how, using my UnityContrib project, you can easily setup your WCF service so that it is resolved via Unity.  As you'll see in the webcast you can easily switch between implementation for your service contract with a simple update to the <Unity> section in the web services Web.Config file.

The only thing was it didn't fall into my vision of having only "1" configuration file to manage for an entire enterprise solution (which I have achieved and plugged into this project). So I added functionality (proof of concept) where I can control the class that is used by the WCF service from within the main Websites Web.Config file (see referenced link for more details).

Below I show a unit test that exercises the WCF Service.  The Presentation Tier has it's own BLL and DAL.  The DAL has a "Web Service Reference" and raises an event when data arrives, it is bubbled through the BLL and handled as shown below:

public void MyTestInitialize()
            // Subscribe to baseclass MockBootStrapper event
            Boot.OnConfigureContainer += OnConfigureContainer;

// Initialize base for unit test use
            InitializeBase(this, new TestEventArgs