Unity/WCF object instantiation

Jan 29, 2009 at 3:59 PM
Hello all!
I'm new to Unity and IoC in general, but I really like what I see so far. I've been looking into whether Unity supports object instantiation through WCF, and what would need to be done for that. From what I understand, this would basically require programmatically creating a new StaticFactoryExtension, configuring this StaticFactoryExtension to use a custom factory you create; this factory would be communicating with a WCF service to grab the object from there.
1. I tried implementing this, but ran into issues at the Resolve step because the type of the WCF-returned object didn't match the type that Unity was expecting (Basically, My.Custom.IInterface != MyServiceReference.MyServiceClient.ObjectImplementingInterface)... Should I be using Unity on the WCF side as well to be returning the instance?
2. Is there a better way of doing this?
3. Does it even make sense to do this? 

Thanks for your time!

Jan 29, 2009 at 6:02 PM
Try this way. It works very well.

http://initializecomponent.blogspot.com/2008/06/integrating-unity-with-wcf.html

Chester
Jan 30, 2009 at 9:41 PM
Thanks for the link! Is it correct to say that the link you gave resolves dependencies that a WCF service might require? That's what I'm understanding from it, at least. I'm trying to achieve something slightly different: Use unity at the web application (WCF client) side and try to resolve an object, hitting a WCF service to pull back that object. This WCF service has no dependencies (necessarily) that need to be injected; it just needs to be able to provide an object back to a Unity container, which would then give the object to the web application. 

Or is it that I'm not understanding the link correctly? Maybe what I want to do can be accomplished by artificially making the WCF service be dependant upon those objects?