Using Buildup in ASP.NET

Oct 23, 2009 at 5:24 PM
Edited Oct 23, 2009 at 5:25 PM

I'm new to Unity.

What I'm trying to do is use BuildUp to inject dependencies into my page, following the guidance of several different blogs on the topic. During testing, I want to get the default implementation (MockAppData), but in production, I want to get RealAppData instead.

The code below works to get the default implementation of IappData, but when I try to get the named implementation ("Production"), I still get the default instance. Obviously I don't understand BuildUp!

Is there some better way for me to go about what I'm trying to do?

Thanks in advance,

R.L.

// in global.asax.cs

public void Application_Start(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
// Register the relevant types for the // container here through classes or configuration if (_container == null)
{
_container = new UnityContainer()
.RegisterType<IAppData, MockAppData>()
.RegisterType<IAppData, RealAppData>("Production");
}
}

// in a separate class file
public
abstract class BasePage<T> : Page where T : class { [Dependency] public IAppData AppData {get; set;}

protected override void OnPreInit(EventArgs e)
{
base.OnPreInit(e);
InjectDependencies();
}

protected virtual void InjectDependencies()
{
var context = HttpContext.Current;
if (context == null) return;

var accessor = context.ApplicationInstance as IContainerAccessor;
if (accessor == null) return;

var container = accessor.Container;
if (container == null) {throw new InvalidOperationException("No Unity container found");}

container.BuildUp(this, "Production"); // expected this to find named registration, but it doesn't }
}

Dec 18, 2009 at 12:49 AM

Names aren't recursive - it's going to BuildUp your page based on your current type, looking for a registration for BasePage<T>, "Production". It doesn't find one (I assume) so it then uses the default. Which has [Dependency] on the AppData property, which results in injecting the default type for IAppData.