Unity and Data Access, using configuration

Jun 5, 2009 at 4:37 PM
Edited Jun 5, 2009 at 4:44 PM

I'm new to Unity, and have had success with my initial simple IOC activites.  Now I'm trying to wire up a Database object from the Data Access Application Block into a DAO implementation I have, using XML config.  This is with Unity 1.2 and MEL 4.1.  I found a blog and an MSDN link on how to wire this up with code, but can't find a good example of what to do in XML.  I've added the requisite  extension tags, which seem to be fine:

<extensions> <add type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.Configuration.Unity.EnterpriseLibraryCoreExtension, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common" /><add type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Configuration.Unity.DataAccessBlockExtension, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data" /></extensions>

A database named "SomeDB" has been defined using the MEL GUI in web.config (valid connect string, Oracle ODP.Net provider).  So now I want a Database object injected into my DAO that uses this "SomeDB" connection string and provider configuration from DAB.  The DAO class takes a Database object as a constructor arg, so constructor injection was used.  I tried this type def:

<type type="ISomeDAO" mapTo="SomeDaoImpl" name="DabDaoImpl"> <lifetime type="singleton" /><typeConfig><constructor><param name="database" parameterType="Database"><dependency name="appDb" /></param></constructor></typeConfig></type>