Policy Injection lifetime & Best Practices questions

Nov 6, 2013 at 4:51 PM
Edited Nov 6, 2013 at 4:52 PM
Hey all,
I have been using Unity for almost 2-3 years now and i never managed to get a really straight answer about this.

Lately i've been using a lot of Interception to leverage crosscutting concerns (Validation, Logic, other business rules) and i have the following questions:

What is the lifetime of a Policy against a singleton object ?
That is, assuming i am resolving a singleton...the policy pipeline against this object is created each time Unity resolves it or just the first time? Im asking this because of the performance implications...

Another question, what are the best practices around the Policy Injection declarations ?
  1. It is preferable to create policies around concerns (like LoggingPolicy, ValidationPolicy) where i target multiple types, methods (...),using MatchingRules ? (Usually a policy definition like this only has one CallHandler...)
  2. Or...is it preferable to create policies around a specific business object (like AccountRepositoryPolicy, UserApiPolicy) where the policy definition (MatchingRule) targets a specific interface and has multiple CallHandlers (Ex: LoggingCallHandler, ValidationCallHandler, (...)) ?
Lastly, which takes the most performance hit ?
  1. Lots of Policies and one or two CallHandlers per policy
  2. Or... Very few Policies but with 4 or 5 callhandlers per policy
Thank you all..
Nov 7, 2013 at 6:33 AM
By default the singleton object is stored in a ContainerControlledLifetimeManager. When the object is resolved the instance is retrieved from the lifetime manager and then interception is applied against the object (e.g. InstanceInterception). The pipeline itself is cached.

If you really want to cache the wrapped object then you could resolve and then overwrite the registration with the wrapped object:
IUnityContainer container = new UnityContainer().LoadConfiguration();