Inject into child container

Dec 10, 2008 at 1:00 AM
Edited Dec 10, 2008 at 1:03 AM

Hi, I am fairly new to Di and the Unity Application block, I am having a hard time trying to Inject a UnityContainer into a child container using the parent.CreateChildContainer method.

Any ideas?

public class RootContainer
    {
        private IUnityContainer _container;

public RootContainer()
        {
            _container = new TestUnityContainer();
            _container.RegisterType<IChildContainer, ChildContainer>();

// Method 1 - Associate a new instance with the IUnityContainer
            //_container.RegisterInstance<IUnityContainer>(_container.CreateChildContainer());

IChildContainer child = _container.Resolve<IChildContainer>();
        }
    }

public interface IChildContainer { }

public class ChildContainer : IChildContainer
    {
        private IUnityContainer _container;

/* I want to inject the parent.CreateChildContainer() into this constructor */
        public ChildContainer(IUnityContainer container)
        {
            _container = container;
        }
    }

Dec 10, 2008 at 6:47 AM
Hi,

You can try this, In your _container.RegisterType<IChildContainer, ChildContainer>();, you can add a injectionConstructor in the parameter to specify the value that will be passed to the constructor of the type you are registering. like this,

_container.RegisterType<IChildContainer, ChildContainer>(new InjectionConstructor(_container.CreateChildContainer()));

Valiant Dudan
Global Technology and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Dec 10, 2008 at 8:20 AM
Edited Dec 10, 2008 at 8:21 AM
Is it possible to do this when the object is creaed.  For example, can I create an UnityContainerExtension that will register a custom IBuildPlanPolicy that will inject child containers.   I was having some success with this method however I was unable to locate the constructing container from the IBuilderContext

class Program
    {