Interception to methods of different classes in an application

Jul 14, 2012 at 7:12 PM
Edited Jul 14, 2012 at 7:12 PM

Hi,

I am quite new to Unity. As I figured out it is possible to do interception to objects of classes which are registered to UnityContainer in a manner as   

IUnityContainer container = new UnityContainer();
          container.AddNewExtension<Interception>();
          container.RegisterType<ISubscriberRepository, SubscriberRepository>();
          container.Configure<Interception>().SetInterceptorFor<ISubscriberRepository>(
               new InterfaceInterceptor()
               );
          ISubscriberRepository repository = container.Resolve<ISubscriberRepository>();

My requirement is to be able to mark several methods in my application with my custom attibutes which I derive from InterceptionExtention.HandlerAttribute.
After that it would be great if I would not need to register each and every single type as e.g.

container.Configure<Interception>().SetInterceptorFor<ISubscriberRepository>(
               new InterfaceInterceptor()
               );

as I need to be very flexible in my application. Imagine I have a NullHandlerAttribute which I need to place on specific methods during ongoing development phase.
Requiering to always enhance the setup doing container.RegisterType would be quite tedious.
Is there a way to avoid that?

Another question: If my application itself must not know about Unity. Is there a way to instantiate the objects without using container.Reslove<..>?

Regards Peter

Jul 15, 2012 at 7:25 AM

You could create a UnityContainerExtention to automatically setup the interceptions you want.  See this post.  In your case the extension would look something like this:

public class UnityInterfaceInterceptionRegisterer : UnityContainerExtension
    {
        protected override void Initialize()
        {
            base.Container.AddNewExtension<Interception>();