Constructor Parameters (again)

Jun 23, 2008 at 8:58 AM

Sorry, I'm a Unity newbie and haven't found an answer (code) for the following simple issue:

If I've got a class with multiple constructors, I've understood that Unity takes the one with the longest signature and "tries" to resolve objects which have been passed as constructor parameters. I also understood, that if the parameter is e.g. a string object, Unity cannot resolve apropriately. I've read that there are methods to work around this and actually pass the string parameter. Can anybody provide the basic and stripped down CODE, that does just that based on the following type:

class NullLogger : ILogger

private string version;

this.version = "1.0";

NullLogger(string v)
this.version = v;

void Log(string message)
Console.WriteLine("NULL> "+message);

Jun 23, 2008 at 3:02 PM
I might be getting the wrong end of the stick here... but are you after something like

using System;
using System.Configuration;
using Microsoft.Practices.Unity;
using Microsoft.Practices.Unity.Configuration;

namespace MSUnityStringConstructorSample
    class Program
        private static void Main(string[] args)
            IUnityContainer container = new UnityContainer();
            UnityConfigurationSection section = (UnityConfigurationSection)ConfigurationManager.GetSection("unity");
            ILogger nullLogger = container.Resolve<ILogger>();

class NullLogger : ILogger
        private readonly string version;

public NullLogger()
            version = "1.0";
        public NullLogger(string v)
            version = v;
        public void Log(string message)
            Console.WriteLine("NULL> " + version + " : " + message);

public interface ILogger
            void Log(string message); 
With a configuration like this

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
    <section name="unity"
                 Microsoft.Practices.Unity.Configuration, Version=,
                 Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" />