Design Questions - Static Classes, Dependency Injection etc

Feb 25, 2011 at 12:44 PM
Edited Feb 25, 2011 at 1:28 PM

Hi,

I'm just getting started with Unity and IoC frameworks so excuse this rather basic question.

I'm stuggling to work out the best way to design my framework classes. I'm creating an API that will wrap a messaging library. This messaging library will then be used by various modules to communicate with other instances of the application. Although I can see many examples of using dependency injection in MVP style situations I'm wondering is it still applicable for API's like I'm creating?

In the past I would have implemented this with a combination of Singletons, static classes and so forth. An example problem I'm facing is I have a static class that reads  a configuration file into memory. I would like to log various messages when this file is parsed. In the past I would have created a private logger doing something like below.

private static readonly ILogger Logger = LogProvider.GetLog("SomeLogComponentName");

However many of the examples I see in Unity seem to inject these dependencies like below

#constructor

public foo(ILogProvider logProvider){

ILogger logger = logProvider.GetLog("SomeLogComponentName");

}

Which of these approaches is better and why? I'm guessing the later because here we are dealing purely with interfaces and the nature of dependency injection would make it easier to test our code. However sometimes it is not possible to take that approach, like in the case of a static class which requires a parameterless contructor. In this case we could need some InitialiseMethod I assume to achieve the same.

I'd be interested to hear thoughts on this. I feel like I'm missing a part of the puzzle here.

Futher to this I wonder if it is good practice to pass the Container between classes and thus I can resolve and add any objects?

Thanks in advance

Feb 27, 2011 at 3:54 AM