Dynamic properties of DI in Unity

Mar 14, 2008 at 8:45 AM
Hi, Unityers,

I posted a question on the EntLib forum two days ago, but it seems I should have used this forum. I am reproducing it below, hoping to get some response here as well. The issue is how to model a system where the set of (injectable) services can change all the time. Copy/paste begins:

Hi, folks,

I am completely new to EntLib (and .NET as well in fact), but I'm familiar with dependency injection. In my previous project, we implemented a DI mechanism on top of the OSGi Module System, and made it work seamlessly across multiple VM's.

OSGi is a very dynamic environment, in which services can appear, disappear and reappear without further notice. The DI mechanism had to handle (re)appearing services by registering listeners in OSGi. Incidentally, our framework also handled the opposite of injection, exposing a service, so that when all your dependencies were satisfied, your own service(s) were exposed, so that they became candidates for injection into other components - and so on. If your dependencies were lost later (e.g. if a machine went down), your service might get unexposed, which might take away a dependency for someone else - and so on. In short, in this environment, the work of the DI framework is never done.

Before that, I used the Spring framework. Spring was, at least back then, static in comparison - the basic usage pattern was to have Spring wire everything up as configured, and then start up. It did not have much in the way of a runtime API, or dynamic "uninjection" of services. This works well for webapps and tiered applications with well-known dependency structures.