what comes after LoadConfiguration?

Dec 8, 2010 at 8:19 PM

Please bare with me, I am new to Unity and it's concepts, but I think I have a decent grasp of it. 

I have an object called "Unit" in a Project called Library.  Unit contains some functions that retrieve Unit lists.  (Library contains all my Business Objects.)

I have a separate project that I want to inject the Library objects into called Manager. 

I am not referencing Library in my Manager anywhere.  I am using Design Time Configuration using the app.config to configure Unity.

In the Manager code I have a Load() routine that creates a container and loads it using LoadConfiguration.  I can step through my code and see Registrations in the container.  My code looks like this:

Private cnt As IUnityContainer = New UnityContainer().LoadConfiguration

Configuration looks like this:

<unity xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/practices/2010/unity">
    <assembly name="Library"/>
    <namespace name="Library.BusinessObjects.Aircraft"/>
    <namespace name="Library.BusinessObjects.Unit"/>
    <container>     
      <register type="IUnit" mapTo="Unit" name="Unit"/>
      <register type="IUnitInfo" mapTo="UnitInfo" name="UnitInfo"/>
      <register type="IUnitInfoList"  mapTo="UnitInfoList" name="UnitInfoList"/>
      <register type="IAircraft"  mapTo="Aircraft" name="Aircraft"/>
      <register type="IAircraftInfo" mapTo="AircraftInfo" name="AircraftInfo"/>
      <register type="IAircraftInfoList" mapTo="AircraftInfoList" name="AircraftInfoList"/>
    </container>   
  </unity>

My confusion is this:  Since I am using Design Time Configuration, how do I get my Unit object out of the container into a concrete form?  What do I instantiate my object(s) as?  What's comes after LoadConfiguration.  Do I still need to resolve my objects?  If so, how?

Dec 8, 2010 at 10:38 PM

"how do I get my Unit object out of the container into a concrete form?"