Unity 2.0 for Silverlight 4

Dec 8, 2010 at 4:47 PM

I am just getting started with PRISM v4 and using Unity 2.0 rather than MEF so need to get up to speed with Unity 2.0 as quickly as possible. This is proving extremely frustrating, partly because the PRISM documentation just assumes you're already familiar with Unity, and partly because it seems completely unaware of Silverlight-specific features like Application Extension Services and how DI should be used with these in conjunction with the supplied UnityBootstrapper mechanism.

My first stop for trying to better understand Unity 2.0 was the Unity 2.0 for Silverlight QuickStart.  Despite being issued in April 2010 the documentation assumes you are building the QuickStart with Visual Studio 2005 or Visual Studio 2008 (for which you are told the code needs to be converted). If I try to open the solution in Visual Studio 2010 the upgrade fails and I have two "(unavailable)" projects. The error reads "Unable to read the project file StopLight.csproj" and appears to be down to an assumption that the user has Silverlight 3 installed (there is an imported project reference to C:\Program Files\MSBuild\Microsoft\Silverlight\v3.0\Microsoft.Silverlight.CSharp.targets).

I found some Hands-on-Labs but these were not geared towards Silverlight and when even the first beginning solution (before Unity is even introduced) fails with a service 404 error I decided this looked like more "not applicable to .NET 4 or obsolete" shenanigans.

So it seemed like the only way to get to grips with this stuff if you're a Silverlight 4/Visual Studio 2010 developer is to wade through the reference documentation.  Unfortunately this is only available in .chm format - no pdf has been made available as was the case for PRISM.