Improvements to NotifyPropertyChangedBehavior, Comments?

Sep 3, 2010 at 7:58 AM

I am quite new to unity interception. Autogenenrating code, which I type hundreds of times, looked quite appealing. I am talking of this code (considering a mapped class MyClass with a property Name):

public string Name {
      get {
        return m_MyClass.Name;
      }
      set {
        if(Name == value) {
          return;
        }

m_MyClass.Name = value;

OnPropertyChanged("Name");
      }
    }

As the example for the NotifyPropertyChangedBehavior is in the Unity 2 help file, I startet looking at it. More or less it generates the following code:

public string Name {
      get {
        return m_MyClass.Name;
      }
      set {
      	m_MyClass.Name = value;

}
    }

As this code can rise to event ping pong in certain binding scenerios, I changed the orignal code:

private IMethodReturn InterceptPropertySet(IMethodInvocation input, GetNextInterceptionBehaviorDelegate getNext) {
      var propertyName = input.MethodBase.Name.Substring(4);

var returnValue = getNext()(input, getNext);

var subscribers = propertyChanged;
      if (subscribers != null) {
        subscribers(input.Target, new PropertyChangedEventArgs(propertyName));
      }

return returnValue;
    }

to:

private IMethodReturn InterceptPropertySet(IMethodInvocation input, GetNextInterceptionBehaviorDelegate getNext) {
      var propertyName = input.MethodBase.Name.Substring(4);
      object[] propertyIndex = input.Arguments.Cast<object>().
                                 Where((a, index) => index < input.Arguments.Count - 1).
                                 ToArray();
      object propertyTarget = input.Target;
      object propertyOldValue = input.Target.
                                  GetType().
                                  GetProperty(propertyName).
                                  GetValue(propertyTarget, propertyIndex);
      object propertyNewValue = input.Arguments[input.Arguments.Count - 1];